Things are getting weird again…

More Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops (Constable) by Jen Campbell has had us chortling behind the shelves as much as the first book – and judging by the way it is going out the door, the customers are also enjoying it.

From useful suggestions…

Customer:If I had a bookstore, I’d make the mystery section really hard to find.

…to deep yearnings…

Customer (Whilst paying for a book): ” I have always wanted to marry a bookseller.
Pause.
Customer: “Do you fantasise about marrying one of your customers?
Bookseller:

…to grand ambitions…

Young boy: When I grow up, I’m going to be a book ninja.
Bookseller: Cool! What do book ninja’s do?
Young boy: I can’t tell you. It’s top secret.”
… booksellers hear it all – and can usually recommend a book to help!

I also really liked the section at the back, about the weird things people say at book signings for the Weird Things People Say in Bookshops… very meta.

Leave a Reply

