A light-filled book….

…yes, have just finished The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton (Victoria University Press), which I have been turning the pages of in the background of my other reading.

As you might remember from a previous post, this 800+ page tome was really good by the 250ish page and I have to say: have not changed my mind. In fact, I think it is better than really good.
I can see that it could maybe have been tightened up a bit, edited a touch more strictly but really I just enjoyed indulging in this writer’s world, her characters and her literary games. Of course, there was the odd niggle, and when I was also reading something a bit more fast-paced and less chatty (not looking at anyone in particular, Lee Child) I did sometimes think “oh, just get a move on”, but in the end I liked it and think lots of our friends and customers will too.

If the page-count is making look you at this book slightly askance, I would suggest not thinking about it and leaping in: a relaxed sinking into this well-imagined and beautifully written book is probably the most rewarding way to approach the beast…

Leave a Reply

